Instant Karma! (We All Shine On)

Lennon/Ono with the Plastic Ono Band
Produced by Phil Spector

Track Listing

  1. 3:25

‘Instant Karma! (We All Shine On)’ is John’s 3rd single, it was written and recorded on 27th January 1970 and released just ten days later on February 6th.

The B-Side, ‘Who Has Seen The Wind’ was written by Yoko Ono.

‘I wrote it in the morning on the piano, like I said many times, and I went to the office and I sang it. I thought, “Hell, let’s do it”, and we booked the studio. And Phil came in, he said, “How do you want it?” I said, “You know, 1950 but now.” And he said “Right,” and boom, I did it in just about three goes. He played it back, and there it was. I said, “A bit more bass, that’s all.” And off we went. See, Phil doesn’t fuss about with fuckin’ stereo or all the bullshit. Just “Did it sound alright? Let’s have it.” It doesn’t matter whether something’s prominent or not prominent. If it sounds good to you as a layman or as a human, take it. Don’t bother whether this is like that or the quality of this. That suits me fine.’

– John Lennon, 1970

Sleeve notes

Instant Karma! (We All Shine On)
John Lennon: vocals, guitar, piano
George Harrison: acoustic guitar, piano
Klaus Voormann: bass, piano
Billy Preston: organ
Alan White: piano, drums
Mal Evans: background vocals, chimes, handclaps
Yoko Ono, Allen Klein and others: background vocals
Written by John Lennon
Produced by Phil Spector

Who Has Seen The Wind?
Yoko Ono: vocals
Musicians unknown
Written by Yoko Ono
Produced by John Lennon