Live Peace in Toronto 1969

‘The rehearsal for the record was on the plane!’

– John Lennon, 1980

The Plastic Ono Band
Produced by John and Yoko (Bag Productions)

Track Listing

  1. 4:00
  2. 3:20
  3. 3:25
  4. 3:50
  5. 3:43
  6. 3:30

  7. 4:48
  8. 12:39
Detail from the cover artwork of 'Live Peace In Toronto 1969'

Live Peace in Toronto 1969 was recorded at the Toronto Rock and Roll Revival festival held at Varsity Stadium, at the University of Toronto on 13 September 1969. John & Yoko were invited by promoters John Brower and Kenny Walker, and hastily assembled the Plastic Ono Band (Eric Clapton: guitar, Klaus Voormann: bass, and Alan White: drums) in time to play at the festival the following day. The band’s rehearsals took place entirely acoustically on the flight to Toronto from London.

The Plastic Ono Band played eight songs to the 25,000 strong crowd. They were introduced by Kim Fowley, and John said to the crowd that the group were going to play only songs that they knew. John’s then latest song, ‘Cold Turkey’, and Yoko’s ‘Don’t Worry Kyoko (Mummy’s Only Looking for Her Hand in the Snow)’ had their first public outings at the festival. The band closed with an extended experimental jam, ‘John, John (Let’s Hope for Peace)’ the end of which saw the band leaving their instruments onstage to feedback until turned off by the Lennons’ personal assistant, Mal Evans.

Recorded: 13 September 1969, Varsity Stadium, Toronto, Canada
Mixed: Abbey Road Studios, London, UK: 25th September 1969, 20th October 1969.
Released UK: 12 Dec 1969
Released USA: 12 Dec 1969

Sleeve notes

The Plastic Ono Band:
John Lennon: guitars, vocals
Yoko Ono: vocals
Eric Clapton: guitar (by courtesy of Atlantic Records)
Klaus Voorman: bass
Alan White: drums
Produced by John and Yoko (Bag Productions)

‘Being born in Scotland carries with it certain responsibilities’ – Derek Taylor

Blue Suede Shoes (C.L. Perkins)
Money (Bradford-Gordy)
Dizzy Miss Lizzie (Williams)
Yer Blues (Lennon-McCartney)
Cold Turkey (J. Lennon)
Give Peace A Chance (Lennon-McCartney)
Don’t Worry Kyoko (Mummy’s Only Looking For Her Hand In The Snow) (Yoko Ono)
John, John (Let’s Hope For Peace) (Yoko Ono)


Versions Available

1969 – Original release on LP, 4 Track, 8 Track and Cassette

1995 – Digital Remix on CD


1995 Digital Remix:
Re-Mixed from the original 8 track tapes by Rob Stevens at Quad Recording
Digitally Re-Mastered by George Marino at Sterling Sound
Digital Sequencing: Paul Goodrich
Additional Engineering: Wes Naprstek
Assistant Engineer: Chris Habaek